Approximately 400 people attended Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-op’s 80ᵗʰ Annual Membership Meeting at the Posen High School today. According to Board Chairman John Brown, “The annual meeting is a perfect example of our cooperative principles in action. Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members. Members have equal voting rights – one member, one vote.”

Each year elections are held by PIE&G for three (3) positions on the Board of Directors. After all votes were counted, the successful candidates winning election to three-year terms are: John F. Brown (Cheboygan District), Charles Arbour (Montmorency District), and Allan Berg (Presque Isle District). Below is the list of candidates and the number of votes each candidate received.

Cheboygan District: John F. Brown 993*
Jack Douglas 303
Dawn Drolshagen 266
Montmorency District: Charles Arbour 492*
Donald Edwards 483
David Guest 268
Dennis Smith 331
Presque Isle District: Allan Berg 1,120*
Greg Diller 467

Immediately following the meeting, the board of directors held their election of officers and the results are as follows: Chairman – John F. Brown; Vice-Chairman – Allan Berg; Secretary – Sandy Borowicz, and Treasurer – Daryl Peterson. In other business, members heard reports from the cooperative’s auditor and Chief Executive Officer. The winner of the prize raffle for voting by mail was Mr. Jeff Whitsitt of Millersburg.

Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-op provides electricity and natural gas service to approximately 42,500 members across nine counties in northeast Michigan. PIE&G’s headquarters is in Onaway.